Live in Europe
Flying Colors — Live in Europe (2CD, iTunes HD, Amazon MP3, 3LP Vinyl Special Edition)
Release date : Oct. 15, 2013
Label : Mascot Label Group
  1. Blue Ocean
  2. Shoulda Coulda Woulda
  3. Love is What I'm Waiting For
  4. Can't Find a Way
  5. The Storm
  6. Odyssey
  7. Forever in a Daze
  8. Halleluja
  9. Better Than Walking Away
  10. Kayla
  11. Fool in My Heart
  12. Spur of the Moment
  13. Repentance
  14. June
  15. All Falls Down
  16. Everything Changes
  17. Infinite Fire

Live In Europe captures the quintet in Tilburg, NL performing at 013 on September 20, 2012. Directed and Edited by Bernhard Baran (Guns n’ Roses, The Cure, Porcupine Tree) with Bill Evans returning as exec producer, the concert presents the entire studio album performed along with popular favorites by individual members.

The performance captured in Tilburg includes: “Blue Ocean,” “Shoulda Coulda Woulda,” “Love Is What I’m Waiting For,” “Can’t Find A Way” (Endochine / Casey McPherson), “The Storm,” “Odyssey” (Dixie Dregs), “Forever In A Daze,” “Hallelujah” (Cohen), “Better Than Walking Away,” “Kayla,” “Fool In My Heart,” “Spur of the Moment” (Dave LaRue), “Repentance” (Dream Theater), “June” (Spock’s Beard), “All Falls Down,” “Everything Changes,” and “Infinite Fire.”

The release includes the documentary, First Flight, featuring exclusive interviews with each band member, meet & greet footage and candid moments on the road captured backstage, in the dressing rooms, the band bus, and during tour rehearsals. The 45 minute documentary includes excerpts from songs recorded during the band’s very first show (LA, USA), first show in Europe (Hamburg, Germany) and final show (London, UK) of the tour. Configurations available will be Blu-Ray, DVD, 2CD, Limited Edition 3LP Vinyl Set and Digital download (iTunes, Mastered for iTunes, Amazon MP3). The Limited Edition Vinyl Set includes 3 LPs on 180gr colored vinyl, a LP sized booklet and an exclusive bonus track. The Blu-Ray and DVD include stereo and 5.1 surround mixes. Every effort has been made to assure the highest audio quality: All Blu-Ray audio being uncompressed, Mastered for iTunes is prepared from a 96KHz/24-Bit master, and the vinyl edition spans 3 audiophile-grade LPs.

Drummer Mike Portney shares, “What a band! What a tour! The magic that we captured on the debut album was only further developed and cemented on Flying Colors’ 2012 Tour. Each night on stage I felt like I was part of something very special and cherished every moment of it. As it was such a brief and limited tour, I am so glad we captured it here to now share with fans all around the world that didn’t get to see this special band in person…enjoy!” Guitarist Steve Morse adds, “Performing live is most fun when the music is able to lift you up with pure emotion. We, as well as the audience, were feeling that, I’m sure!”

In 2008, executive producer Bill Evans brought the idea to the world renowned musicians and legendary producer Peter Collins (Rush, Bon Jovi, Elton John). Intrigued by the idea, and the prospect of working together, the four signed on to form a band and record a first album. Steve Morse and Dave LaRue have developed a magical musical chemistry over the years, which began early in their careers as partners in Dixie Dregs. Morse subsequently became a member of Deep Purple in 1995, while LaRue’s ongoing musical adventures include Joe Satriani, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, Steve Vai, and the aforementioned Portnoy. Multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer Neal Morse is one of the leading figures in progressive rock, whose significant notoriety follows his co-founding of the seminal band, Spock’s Beard in 1995, recordings as a solo artist, and contributions to the super-group Transatlantic. Mike Portnoy is one of the most popular and respected drummers in both metal and rock, and an accomplished writer and producer. He is the recipient of numerous industry accolades, including 26 Modern Drummer awards, Revolver Magazine’s Golden God award for “Best Drummer” and Drum Magazine’s “Drummer of the Year”. He rose to prominence as the leader, drummer, producer, and co-writer for metal/prog juggernaut Dream Theater, before moving on in 2010. That same year, he worked on Avenged Sevenfold’s #1 album Nightmare and their subsequent tour. McPherson, whose 2010 Hollywood/Disney album, New Morning, debuted in the Top-5 on two Billboard charts, enjoyed major success at radio with multiple hits. The track “New Morning” spent 17 weeks in the Top-10 on Triple A Radio, and enjoyed a run on Vh1’s Top-20 Countdown for months.

Flying Colors convened for just nine days in early 2011, composing their debut album during the short and intense session. Dave LaRue shared, “It was quite an experience. The band moved at a fast pace, with ideas flying around the room at all times. Sections of tunes were arranged, then re-arranged. Ideas were tried every which way until we made them work, or, in some cases, discarded them altogether. Just keeping track of everything was a challenge!” McPherson adds, “This record is filled with trial and triumph. Raw and delicate songs alike, amidst the swirling and daring orchestration of Steve, Neal, Mike and Dave. It’s been such an inspiring challenge melding folk, prog, pop, and metal all into one big recording.”